About Us

Dept of English was established in 1965 as a UG Dept . It was upgraded to a PG dept in 1982. From a modest beginning, the Dept has carved a niche for itself due to its constant yearning for pursuit of excellence and an unfailing commitment to add value to its curriculum by organizing various types of co curricular and extra curricular activities. 

Late Shri Manoranjan Bhattacharya was the first Head of the Dept who retired in 1994. Late Shri Deepak Mathur joined the Dept in 1982 . Till his untimely death in 2007, he rendered his services to the Dept. At present , there are three Faculties in the Dept : Dr Madhu D Singh (Associate Professor and Head ), Dr Jyoti Mamgain ( Assistant Professor) and Dr Anupam Sanny ( Assistant Professor).

There are 40 seats at PG level and 80 at UG level. Besides this , the Dept is also a Centre of Research, guiding Ph D students.

  • Our students have secured positions in university Merit List: 2010 -   Dimple  -  IInd Position,2011- Diksha Bhandari - IVth, 2013- Astha Aswal- IVth, 2014- Arjun Sharma-Vth, 2015-Yachna Suryavanshi-Ist, 2016-Saloni Goyal-IInd.A good number of students are pursuing M Phil/ Ph D from different universities. Some students have qualified SET exam.

Placement record of our students is quite commendable. Many of them are working as Teachers in colleges, while others are working in Banks, Defence services and Police. 


English Literary Society ( ELS), established in 2008, strives to expand the creative horizons of students . The Society acknowledges its indebtedness to Pujya Shrimahant Devendradass ji Maharaj for appreciating our endeavour and contributing Rs 5100/- as a token of his blessings.The ELS invites eminent scholars/ creative writers of English who interact with students and hone their creative/ communicative skills. The scholars invited so far...
2009- Prof Jaiwanti Dimri , bi lingual creative writer, recipient of Arya Smriti Sahitya Samman
2010 -Prof Rashmi Gaur Dept of English IIT Roorkee
2011 -Ms Jaskian Chopra, Journalist and creative writer
2012- Ms Rati Agnihotri, Creative writer and correspondent World CNN TV

2014-Ankit Gusain, Creative writer 

2015-Prof.Raj Dhar ,Cretaive writer 

2016- Dr. Harshvardhan Khimta ,Creative writer and Reviewer

2017-Dr.Anurag Shourie,Creative writer, Author of Half A Shadow

Quizzes conducted by ELS.....
Quiz on Homophones, Quiz on Books and Authors, Quiz on Nobel Laureates, Quiz on Mottos of Different organizations, names of different State Birds/ Animals/ flowers etc. Winners of Quiz competition are given prizes.

Dept Library
There are approximately 200 books in the library. The dept also subscribes to 5 journals .

Good / Innovative Practices

  • The Dept has exclusive collection of works of Nobel Award winners in literature
  • Topper of M A English is awarded a Cash Prize of Rs 2100/-( Arvind Bandhu Smriti Gyan Jyoti Puraskar) and Topper of B A is awarded Rs 2100/- ( Kamala Chaudhary Smriti Gyan Jyoti Puraskar)
  • Mentoring system is in place, under which senior students guide and mentor the junior students.
  • Our students participated in Jaipur Literature Festival,Kerala Lit.Festival besides Doon Lit. Festival. Students are taken to 'Meet the author programme' organized by WIC.
  • Dept. conducted workshop on 'Literature and Performing Arts' in 2018.

News & Events

Nov 21
Nov 21
Nov 17
Nov 04
Nov 04
Nov 02
Oct 19
Oct 14
Oct 14
Aug 24
Aug 24
Aug 13
Aug 13
Aug 05
Jul 06
Jun 23
May 26
May 23
May 23
May 16
May 16
May 15
May 12
May 09
May 07
May 05
Apr 19
Apr 26
May 03
Apr 28
Apr 27
Apr 25
Apr 24
Apr 23
Apr 23
Apr 23
Apr 23
Apr 23
Dec 28
Dec 21
Dec 19
Dec 19
Total Visitors :