SGRR PG COLLEGE, DEHRADUN

Department Of Geology

UG Course Structure

At Undergraduate Level Department of Geology conducts a 6 semester Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) course for students opting for B.Sc. Program with Geology. For this program the course structure is as under:

12 core courses (4 CC papers from each of the three subjects chosen by the student - 4x3=12).

06 Discipline specific elective papers (2 DSE papers from each of the three chosen subjects- 2x3=6).

04 Skill Enhancement courses (1 SEC from each of the three chosen subjects +1 more SEC from any one of the three chosen subjects)

02 Ability Enhancement Compulsory Courses (1st AECC is a choice between English or Hindi Communication and 2^{nd} AECC is Environmental Science) All the UG Geology Students have to take **06 LAB** (**Practical**) **courses** in the subject (01 in each semester – 1x6=06), **in addition** to the above mentioned courses.

Each Theory course is of 04 credits and each LAB (Practical) course is of 02 credits. There are a total of 132 credits to be earned during completion of the entire program. These credits are evenly distributed as 22 in each of the 06 semesters (22x6=132). The student has to earn all the 132 credits to successfully complete the program.

Semester-Wise break-up of courses for Geology Students:

Semester	CC/ DSE (04 Credits each)	SEC/AECC (04 Credits each)	LAB (02 Credits each)
First	CC 1	AECC 1	CC 1 LAB
Second	CC 2	AECC 2	CC 2 LAB
Third	CC 3	SEC 1	CC 3 LAB
Fourth	CC 4	SEC 2	CC 4 LAB
Fifth	DSE 1	SEC 3	DSE 1 LAB
Sixth	DSE 2	SEC 4	DSE 2 LAB
Total	6 Geology Theory Papers	Min. 1 & Max. 2 Geology SEC	6 Geology LAB courses